Defect Life Cycle

Posted on by By admin, in Software Testing | 0

This blog explains about the complete life cycle of a bug and different status of bug from the stage it was identified,fixed,retest and close.

What is Defect life cycle?

Defect life cycle is the life cycle of a defect or bug refer to its entire state starting from a new defect detected and to end closing of that defect.As it ensures that the final product is of high quality and meets customer expectations.Defect life is also known as bug life cycle.

Stages of Defect life cycle:

Defect Life Cycle

1. New:
Whenever a new defect is identified by the tester and posted it for the first time it is in ’New’ state.It is the first stage of defect life cycle.

2. Assigned:
When the defect is assigned to the development team/developer to resolve it the status of the bug changes to ‘Assigned ‘ state.
a. Differed/Postpone:
Whenever test engineer raises the defect the developer will accept it but will not fix the defect as it in low priority hence the developer will give the status as differed/postpone.
b. Invalid:
Any bug which is not accepted by the developer is known as ‘Invalid’ bug.This occurs due to the wrong understanding about the requirement by the test engineer.
c. Can’t fix:
Whenever the developer is unable to fix the defect that is raised by the test engineer,then it comes under status as’Can’t fix
Developer assigns can’t fix status in following cases:

Ex: Unsupported technology

d. Duplicate:
If the same bug is posted twice or multiple times in that case,the bug status is changed to ‘Duplicate’ and the defect is rejected.

e. Not reproducible:
When the test engineer finds the defect but developer cannot be able to reproduce it so that the developer change the status as ‘Not reproducible’.

f. Request for enhancement(RFE):

If the test engineer raises the bug which is not given in the requirement then the developer change the status as RFE.

3. Fixed:
When the new defect is assigned to developer,the developer will reproduce the defect and accept it.Then he start fixing the defect in the developent server when he fixes the defect it is in ‘fixed’ state.

4. Retest:
At this stage the test engineer starts retesting the defect,if the defect is working fine/not as per requirement.

5. Reopen:
In certain scenerios, the bug exists even after the developer has resolved it.In those cases the tester assigns a ‘Reopen’state to a bug and assign it to developer to fix it again.
This process will end until all the bugs are fixed and closed.

6. Close:
It is the final state of the defect life cycle,if the bug is fixed and if it is working fine then the tester allocates status as ‘Closed’.

Thank You
Nikhila Bejjala
Helical IT Solutions

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments